Home » Key Information » Academy Council

Academy Council

Governance of King’s Oak Academy is undertaken by the Cabot Board and the King’s Oak Academy Council.  This  Academy Council consists of a mix of sponsor appointees, our Principal Katherine Ogden, plus elected staff and parent representatives.

The Clerk to Academy Council, Charlotte Seavill, can be contacted by email: [email protected]

At King’s Oak Academy we are sure that by working together – parents, staff, Academy Council members and students – we can achieve success on our journey to “Outstanding!”

Governance within a multi-academy trust

Chair of the King’s Oak Academy Council

Diane Owen, Chair of the Academy Council

Academy Council

Focus area – Leadership, Maths and Computing
Additional link – All through Sub-group

I am privileged to be the Chair of the Academy Council at King’s Oak Academy and am particularly excited to be involved in the development of this all-through academy. I have an educational background having worked in a range of Secondary schools. My experience has included working at a senior level as Assistant Headteacher and also a period as a Maths Consultant with South Gloucestershire Local Authority. I have been involved in governance for the last 10 years.

I am passionate about education and believe that every child should have the opportunity to achieve the very best outcomes, both academically and

personally, within a safe and supportive environment. I work closely with the Principal and other members of the Academy Council to both challenge and support the Academy in ensuring that we provide every child with an excellent educational experience.

Academy Council Members

Katherine Ogden – Principal

Academy Council

Dan Nicholls – Executive Principal

Academy Council

Focus Area – Curriculum Secondary Phase

Gary Pine – Vice Chair of the Academy Council

Focus area – Health and Safety/Covid
Additional link: Science

Liz Gregory

Academy Council

Focus Area: Safeguarding

Liz has been a teacher in secondary schools for the past twenty years. She has worked in various state and independent schools across the country and is now head of an all through school in the South West. Liz has a MEd in Educational Leadership and is a Fellow and Trustee of the Chartered College of Teaching. She is passionate about ensuring all pupils have the best educational experience which provides an essential foundation for their success and wellbeing.

Sonia Tibbatts

Focus Area – SEND
Additional link – English and MFL

Deda Odutola – Parent Councillor

Adele Rice

Focus area – Student Advocate

Wayne Baker – Parent Councillor

Academy Council

Focus Area – Curriculum Primary Phase
Additional link – PE, Music, Drama and Art

My professional career has been in the construction and the housing industry where I have spent over 30 years working as a contractor and client on industrial and domestic installations.

In recent years my roles have been more focused on operational resilience and my day-to-day role allows me to seek improvements and promote positive change.

Since joining the Academy Council in 2020 and have used my specialisms to support and promote a safe environment for both Staff and Pupils and have worked with Academy staff to challenge the norm and increase awareness of H&S.

Sabrina Marie-Anais – Staff Councillor

Lucy Jacobson – Staff Councillor

Focus Area – Looked After Children and Young Carers

Pecuniary Interests

Academy Council Pecuniary Interests 2021-2022